Next wave of Scottish entrepreneurs step into the spotlight for EY awards

Nine entrepreneurs from the east coast of Scotland have been shortlisted for Entrepreneur of the Year 2016 

Entrepreneurs from 30 of Scotland’s most innovative businesses have been shortlisted for the Scotland final of the EY (Ernst & Young LLP) Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016 Awards.
This year’s finalists, which are an eclectic group from a variety of sectors such as technology, food & drink and energy, as well as social enterprise, include eight from Edinburgh and one from Fife.
They are Stuart McLean of Zonal Data Systems; Heather Arni of Four Square (Scotland); Richard McBride of Edesix; Cally Russell of Mallzee; Duncan Johnston-Watt, Alex Heneveld and Derek Gray of Cloudsoft Corporation; John Peebles of Administrate; Tim Cornelius of Atlantis Resources, and Douglas Samuel of the Spartans Community Football Academy, all of which are based in Edinburgh; Craig Roberts of Cyberhawk Innovations in St Andrews; Mark Williams of NWH Health Group; Amy Livingstone and Julie Wilson of Cheeky Chompers; Alastair Atkinson of DySIS Medical, all of which are based in the Lothians; Ian Hutchison of Merlin ERD in Perth; Chris Gauld of Spark Energy in Selkirk; Ingrid Webb of COPE in Lerwick; Annie Stewart of ANTA Scotland in Tain; Gerry and Aiden Hennessey of Meallmore in Inverness; Malcolm Simpson of SimpsInns in Irvine; Andy Lothian of Insights Learning and Development in Dundee; Andrew Stirling of Stirling Potatoes in Montrose; Richard Forsyth of Forsyths in Rothes; Gary McEwan of Elevator; Stephen Bruce of Darcy Technologies, and Ann and Howard Johnson of Blaze Manufacturing Solutions, all of which are from Aberdeenshire, and Jen Munro of ISSOS; Mick Jackson of Wildhearts Group; Simon Hannah of JW Filshill; Nigel Chadwick of Stream Technologies; Martin Brown of Fleet Alliance, and Andrew Duncan of Swarm Online, all of which are based in Glasgow.
The judging panel, which is led by Duncan Skinner, a social entrepreneur at Social Enterprise Investments Aberdeen Limited, will make its decision based on a number of criteria, including: entrepreneurial spirit; innovation; strategic direction; financial performance; national and global impact; and the companies’ approach to social responsibility.
Last year’s Scotland winner, Mike Loggie, chief executive of Aberdeen-based Saltire Energy, and Scotland finalist Andrew Kerr, of Glasgow-based CMS windows, went on to receive an award for their achievements in growing successful and dynamic businesses at the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year UK final.
The Scotland winners will be announced at an exclusive event held at The Gleneagles Hotel on Thursday, 23 June, with all regional winners then vying for the title of UK EY Entrepreneur Of The Year at a ceremony in London to be held in October.
David Mitchell, director of EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Scotland, said: “From the Highlands and Islands down to the Scottish Borders, the inspirational leaders of the 30 businesses shortlisted this year make a significant contribution to the Scottish economy, with a combined turnover of more than £530million and more than 3,900 employees.
“These entrepreneurs are leaders who are disrupting the market and helping to drive Scotland’s economy and reputation as one of the most entrepreneurial countries in the world.”
Duncan Skinner, chair of the Scotland judging panel, added: “As both a former winner of Scotland and UK awards, I have a first-hand appreciation of the rigour involved in the entire process from application through to judging and follow up.
“The network which is created through the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year programme is incredibly powerful and mutually beneficial in many different ways. I am delighted to chair this year’s panel and look forward to meeting the next wave of Scotland’s entrepreneurial leaders.”
Sponsored by