Finalists announced in first Scottish Beer Awards

Thirty-one breweries will go head to head for the top spot in September

The finalists in the first annual Scottish Beer Awards have been announced, with 31 breweries and 73 beers progressing in the new national competition.
The awards cover both taste and business performance and were judged last week by a highly experienced judging panel consisting of some of Scotland’s foremost brewing and beer experts.
Of the finalists, Ross-Shire based Black Isle Brewing Co leads the race with the most number of beers in the finals with a total of eight. Brewdog, Orkney Brewing and Williams Bros are next with five beers each in the finals.
Five breweries will also fight it out for the top prize, Scottish Brewery of the Year.  Black Isle Brewing Co, Brewdog, Edinburgh Beer Factory, Fallen and Tempest Brewing Co have been selected following the strict judging process.
One-hundred-and-fifty-four Scottish beers were tasted by 19 judges and were marked according to a range of tasting standards, adjudicated by the international sensory management consultancy, FlavorActiV.  Just under half of all the entered beers have been selected in the taste categories as finalists.
Fifty-five written entries covering breweries business performance were also debated in a session which was chaired by former S&N director Hilary Jones.
Jones said: “The judging day was a fantastic experience and I was incredibly impressed by the high standard of written entries.  The tasting session was illuminating and with 8 beer types and 154 beers, we were really put through our paces.  The overwhelming consensus from the panel is that the Scottish brewing sector is in terrific health and producing some outstanding beers.”
Finalists are now being sent a digital marketing package to enable personalised branding of winning beers to take place.  The awards which launched in February have received widespread support and are sponsored by Craft Beer Clan and legal firm Maclay Murray & Spens.
Gold medal winners will be announced at a celebration dinner and event on Thursday, 29 September taking place at the Edinburgh Corn Exchange with presentations also taking place for Silver Medal and Bronze Medal positions.
The Finalists are:
Best Lager or Pilsner
Bellfield Bohemian Pilsner
Black Isle Brewing Co Blonde
Brewdog King Pin
Drygate Brewery Bear Face
Edinburgh Beer Factory Paolozzi
Fallen Brewing Odyssey
Harviestoun Schiehallion
six°north Pils
Williams Bros Caesar Augustus
WooHa Lager
Best Amber or Dark Ale
Barney’s Beer Bastard Amber
Belhaven St Andrews Amber
Black Isle Brewing Co Red Kite
Born in the Borders Dark Horse
Brewdog 5am saint
Fallen Brewing  Dragonfly
Harviestoun Broken Dial
Loch Lomond Brewing Kessog
Orkney Brewery Dark Island
St. Andrews Brewing Company Neuk Ale
Williams Bros Pavlov’s Dog
Best Pale Ale
Black Isle Brewing Co Goldeneye
Born in the Borders Foxy Blonde
Brewdog Dead Pony Club
Caledonian Brewery Coast to Coast
Harviestoun The Ridge
Orkney Brewery Corncrake
Speyside Bow Fiddle Blonde
St. Andrews Brewing Company Crail Ale
Tempest Brewing Co The Pale Armadillo
Williams Bros Birds & Bee’s
Best IPA
Barney’s Beer Volcano IPA
Belhaven Twisted Thistle IPA
Black Isle Brewing Co Gold Finch
Brewdog Punk IPA
Dead End Brew Machine Death one
Drygate Brewery Gladeye IPA
Fallen Brewing Platform C
Keith Brewing Pale Keith
Tempest Brewing Co Brave New World
Up Front Brewing Ishmael
Williams Bros Joker IPA
Best British Style Ale
Black Wolf William Wallace
Black Isle Brewing Co Scotch Ale
Colonsay Brewery 80 Shilling
Fallen Brewing  Local Motive
Harviestoun 80 Shilling
Kentwood Brewing Wee Heavy
Orkney Brewery Raven Ale
St. Andrews Brewing Company 80 Bob
Tempest Brewing Co Old Parochial
Windswept Brewing Co APA
Best Porter or Stout
Belhaven Scottish Oat Stout
Black Isle Brewing Co Porter
Black Isle Brewing Co Hibernator Oatmeal
Drygate Brewery Orinoco
Eden Mill Parritch Broo
Loch Lomond Brewing Silkie Stout
Orkney Brewery Dragonhead
Tempest Brewing Co Red Eye Flight
Up Front Brewing Ishmael
Windswept Brewing Co Bear
Best Speciality Beer
Black Isle Brewing Co Gold Finch
Brewdog Black Eyed King IMP
Dead End Brew Machine Death one
Orkney Brewery Drk Isld Rsrv
six°north Honey Be Good
Tempest Brewing Co Mexicake
Tempest Brewing Co Marmalade on Rye
Top Out Brewery Schmankerl
WEST Brewery Opus 268
Williams Bros Fraoch Ale
Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Boxshop Ltd
Beehive Brae, Honey Beer
Bellfield Brewery, Gluten Free Beer
Brewdog, DIY Dog
Speyside Craft Brewery, Beery Bin
WEST Brewery, West Beer App
Beer Destination of the Year
Barneys Beer, Summerhall , Edinburgh
Brewdog, DogTap, Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Born in the Borders, Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Drygate, Glasgow
Eden Mill, St Andrews
Orkney Brewery, Stromness, Orkney
6 Degrees North, Glasgow
Tennents, Wellpark Brewery, Glasgow
WEST Brewery, Glasgow Green
Product Development Team of the Year
Caledonian Brewery
Dead End Brew Machine
Drygate Brewing Company
Fallen Brewery
Isle of Skye Brewery
Tempest Brewery
WEST Brewery
Exporter of the Year
Belhaven Brewery
Eden Mill
Keith Brewing
Excellence in Marketing
Aldi Scottish Beer Festival
Eden Mill
Edinburgh Beer Factory
Keith Brewing
Growth Business of the Year, sponsored by Maclay Murray Spens
Tempest Brewing Co
Keith Brewing
Six Degrees North
Master Brewer of the Year
Andrew Barnett, Barneys Beer
Tony Kotronis, Keith Brewery
Ari Rovati, Six Degrees North
Ian Smith, Broughton Ales
Scottish Brewery of the Year
Black Isle Brewing Co
Edinburgh Beer Factory
Tempest Brewing Co
The judging panel
Alex Speers, professor, Heriot Watt University
Dr Alan Barclay, past president, Institute of Brewing and Distilling
Andrew Ley, partner, HBJ Gateley
Andrew Wolffe, director, Wolffe Design
Bill Simpson, executive director, Cara Technology
Christopher Miller, Craft Beer Clan Scotland
Colin Johnston, brewing consultant, Maru Projects
Craig Brown, director, Ross & Brown
Dave Stewart, MD, DM Stewart Ltd
Dawn Maskell, assistant professor, Heriot Watt University
Sir Geoff Palmer MBE, professor, Heriot Watt University
Hilary Jones, chair of the judging panel
Ian Herok, director, Still Brewing Company
Pete Sherry, owner, The BeerHive
Roger Protz, editor of the Good Beer Guide
Ruth Evans, CEO, BFBI
Sean Murphy, food and drink journalist
Tony McGrath, formerly S&N and Saltire Inns
Judge moderator: Evelyne Canterranne, global sensory manager, FlavorActiV Ltd
Sponsored by